Apple 2.0

Covering the business that Steve Jobs built

Apple's Tim Cook to speak six hours earlier Tuesday - update

February 11, 2013: 12:22 PM ET

His Goldman Sachs keynote, scheduled for 4:15 p.m. ET has been shifted to 10:15 a.m.

Cook

Cook

FORTUNE -- Not sure what this means, but the much-anticipated presentation that Apple (AAPL) CEO Tim Cook was scheduled to give at Goldman Sachs's (GS) technology conference Tuesday has been moved.

It was originally scheduled for 1:15 p.m. Pacific (4:15 p.m. Eastern). Now, according to Apple's Investor Relations page, Cook will speak at 7:15 a.m. Pacific (10:15 Eastern).

In other words, remarks that were going to be delivered after the markets closed Tuesday will now be given while the markets are still open.

Does that mean Cook has something to say that will materially affect Apple's stock price? Or does he just have a scheduling conflict?

With any luck we'll find out tomorrow.

UPDATE: And just like that, we have our answer. According to the Mercury News, Cook has been invited to sit with Michelle Obama in the First Lady's box for the President's State of the Union address Tuesday, which begins at 9:00 p.m. Eastern. If Cook had stuck to the original 4:15 p.m. schedule at Goldman Sachs, he wouldn't have been able to make it to Washington in time.

Audio of Cook's presentation will be streamed via Quicktime from Apple's website. Here's the URL:

http://events.apple.com.edgesuite.net/13qpijbvpiqefjbgewrifhbvefqpihbdfv2/event/index.html

Join the Conversation
About This Author
Philip Elmer-Dewitt
Philip Elmer-DeWitt
Editor, Apple 2.0, Fortune

Philip Elmer-DeWitt has been following Apple since 1982, first for Time Magazine, and now on the Web for Fortune.com.

Email | @philiped | RSS
Current Issue
  • Give the gift of Fortune
  • Get the Fortune app
  • Subscribe
Powered by WordPress.com VIP.